New Year!

Well hello world.  Or, probably more accurately at this very moment, hello family and close friends who actually took time to check out this little blog.  Aren’t you guys just the best family and friends a gal like me could ever hope for?

So here we are. New year. Everything is supposed to be bright and shiny and brand new.

And then there’s me with my brand new little blog too!

To those that know, this is no surprise (and let’s face it, if you’re reading a post this early on in the blog’s “infancy” (oh I’m so witty! A blog about not having babies and I use words like infancy!), but the hubs and I are not having kids. Like seriously. We’ve chosen no babies for us.

Living childless by choice is becoming more common these days than one might think. That being said, I HAVE TO SAY THE NEXT THING TO MAKE IT PERFECTLY CLEAR I AM NOT A MONSTER. I DO NOT HATE CHILDREN. I DO NOT HATE BABIES. I DO NOT WANT CHILDREN TO BE HURT OR INJURED. I DO NOT WANT ALL OF THE CHILDREN OF THE WORLD TO FALL INTO SOME DARK DEEP HOLE AND DISAPPEAR FOREVER.

Cleary I’m pretty gosh darn happy that both my parents and the hub’s parents wanted to have children. It worked out well for us and to our advantage. But let me make this also perfectly clear. PLENTY OF COUPLES WANT TO HAVE KIDS AND ARE INFINITELY HAPPY WITH THEIR DECISION. There has to be babies for the world to continue, obviously. We simply do not want children of our own. And, as it might be, my husband feels the same way. Stronger, actually. Which is not to say I have any weakness in my resolve. I don’t. But while I respect other couples right to have as many kids as they want, please respect my choice to have none.

Many assume that when we say we “don’t want to have kids,” or “have chosen that its not the lifestyle for us,” that it is because this is some whim we are entertaining for the time being, and that we will eventually settle on down and do what we’re supposed to and pop out some babies. While that is nice and all, its frustrating. It underminds the fact that we have made this decision TOGETHER, and it is not a decision we take lightly. We’ve sat down and had the adult conversations about children, including money, time commitment, the toll on our own relationship, our careers, and our health. And for us, it’s not something we want for our marriage. Just the same as us not wanting to live on a houseboat (that’s so not our lifestyle or our personalities), we don’t want our own kids.

I don’t want to be an accountant either. I don’t hate accountants. I know some very cool, successful, and kickass accountants who ROCK their jobs and have helped me out immensely and on SEVERAL occasions. But being an accountant is not for me. The hubs and I feel the same about parenting. It’s not for us. We’ve though about it over and over and over, but decided on a different career path.

And no, by saying that, I don’t mean that we’ve chosen our careers over having kids. Don’t EVEN get me started on that this early on…

Now I won’t harp on this all the time. That would be just an angry little collection of rants and negative energy that would get old and tiresome after a (short) while. But consider yourself warned – they will pop in there occasionally. Interspersed with some (hopefully?) witty dialect and clever puns.

Leave a Reply

